| Nurturing Your Dream Career in lawKnow CLATBlogsDeposite Fee

What is CLAT - Common Law Addmission Test?

Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) is one of the most important and prestigious law entrances in India after Class XII. CLAT journey started in 2008 and today more than 50,000 students appears the entrance every year to secure a seat in one of the participating National Law University including NLSIU Bangalore-the Harvard of the East.

CLAT is organized every year to select students for 19 National Law Universities in India, other than National Law University-Delhi and HP National Law University-Shimla, which have their own process to select the students.

CLAT Score is also accepted by other law schools including NMIMS, Mumbai, UPES Dehradun and Nirma University, Ahmedabad, to name a few.

The following National Law Universities (along with intake) accept CLAT scores to admit students to their five year LLB programs every year:

National Law University Location Seats
National Law School of India University Bangalore 80
NALSAR University of Law Hyderabad 120
National Law Institute University Bhopal 128
WB National University of Juridical Sciences Kolkata 133
National Law University Jodhpur 115
Hidayatullah National Law University Raipur 187
Gujarat National Law University Gandhinagar 187
Ram Manohar Lohia National Law University Lucknow 178
Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law Patiala 196
Chankaya National Law University Patna 140
National University of Advanced Legal Studies Kochi 68
National Law University Odisha Cuttack 180
National University of Study and Research in Law Ranchi 120
National Law University and Judicial Academy Guwahati 60
DamodaramSanjivayya National Law University Vishakhapatnam 120
Tamil Nadu National Law School Tiruchirappalli 110
Maharashtra National Law University Mumbai 60
Maharashtra National Law University Nagpur 60


CLAT 2019 Exam Important Dates:

As per the official notification, the CLAT 2019 exam will be held on - 13th of May, 2019 from 3.00 - 5.00 pm.

Age Limit Issue Clarified

Finally, CLAT authorities have made the necessary changes and now a student above 20 years in case of general category and 22 years in case of reserved categories are eligible for Common Law Aptitude Test- CLAT.

Eligibility & Syllabus